Drunk driving accidents are the cause of completely unnecessary injuries in North Carolina every year. Our firm takes a strong stance when it comes to drunk driving and the injuries caused by it. We’re eager to hear about your case and help you decide whether to pursue legal action against any drunk driver who hit you. Trying to decide? Read our reviews.
Punitive Damages In Drunk Driving Accidents
If you were injured by a drunk driver in North Carolina, your case may be one which entitles you to punitive damages. Punitive damages are distinguishable from compensatory damages in that their intent is to deter the driver and other drivers from the same behavior in the future. Put simply, this means your case or claim will be worth more than a claim based solely on compensatory damages. Compensatory damages will assist with medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering.
Repeat Drunk Drivers
Many people injured in drunk driving accidents find the person who hit them either carries the NC minimum state limits for insurance coverage, or has no insurance at all. In that case, obtaining any compensation for your injuries will be made more difficult. Your case may become an Under insured or Uninsured motorist claim. If so, you will certainly need the assistance of a Charlotte personal injury lawyer to make sure you’re accessing every insurance policy available. Often, insurance coverage for family members living in the same household comes into play, and your lawyer will uncover and pursue those policies.
Under insured Motorist Claims
North Carolina state law requires drivers have $30,000 for bodily injury coverage ($60,000 for total bodily injury to cover all individuals in an accident). Additionally, there is a requirement for $25,000 for property damage liability as well as uninsured motorist coverage. A driver is defined as under insured if the driver’s liability limits are less than YOUR under insured motorist limits, and also less than the amount required to cover the losses of the people to whom the under insured driver caused injury. In other words, once you exhaust the at-fault driver’s insurance cap, you can then proceed with an under insured motorist claim against your own policy. You do so by accessing the under insured motorist coverage you held at the time of the accident.
Punitive Damages And Uninsured Motorist Coverage
In drunk driving accidents, punitive damages are generally not allowed to be pursued against uninsured motorist coverage. The theory is that there is no deterrent if the insurance company paying the punitive damages was not associated with the at-fault driver. Your personal injury attorney can explain this more clearly in a full discussion about insurance coverage.
Speak With A Personal Injury Lawyer Today
If you’ve been in a drunk driving accident, you should speak with a personal injury lawyer today. The call is free and you deserve to know your rights. Phone consultations and in-person consultations are free. You can reach us at 704.749.7747 or click HERE to request a call. You’ll receive a call from a knowledgeable attorney who can help you sort through your options. We know you have choices. We hope you choose to Recover With Us.