704.749.7747 - 2701 Coltsgate Road Suite 210 Charlotte, NC 28211
If you were hit by a drunk driver in Charlotte, North Carolina, you most likely have a valid personal injury claim. Car accidents involving alcohol and a driver at fault who is either under the influence of alcohol or drugs, require a special skill set. Because of that, if you’ve been hit by a drunk driver it makes sense to speak with a personal injury lawyer.
Even though you may have been hit by a drunk driver, there is still a question of fault. In other words, if you were hit by a drunk driver because you ran a stop sign, then no, you will not be able to sue the other driver.
However, if it is clear that the other driver was at fault, or if the fact scenario is one where fault would otherwise be difficult to determine, then the other driver’s alcohol use will assist you in obtaining a favorable result.
Drunk Driving Laws in NC
In North Carolina, a driver over the age of 21 is not considered impaired unless they have a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher.
A driver under the age of 21 is considered to be impaired if they have registered any level of blood alcohol content. Even if the other driver was not given a citation, if the police report mentions alcohol or suspected drug use, these facts can help to support your personal injury claim.
Another factor to consider if you’re hit by a drunk driver is where the driver was served alcohol?
North Carolina has specific situations in which a social host can be held responsible for the damages you experience at the hands of a driver who was served alcohol on their premises, whether it is a house party or a bar or restaurant. The reason social host liability should be examined if you’re hit by a drunk driver is that insurance policy limits may come into play when attempting to recover from the driver.
If the drunk driver who hit you has insurance coverage of $30,000, and you have injuries, medical bills, and pain and suffering which exceed $30,000, the commercial insurance policy of a social host may provide the additional funds needed to compensate you as the victim.
Speak With A Personal Injury Lawyer
Have your case evaluated for free. Call us at 704.749.7747 to speak with a personal injury lawyer today, or click HERE to ask us to call you at a specific time. We hope you choose to Recover With Us.